Institutional Biosafety Committee (IBSC)

In compliance with Rules for the manufacture, use, import, export and storage of hazardous microorganisms or genetically modified organism or cells (1989), of the environment protection act (1986) laid down by Department of Biotechnology, Ministry of Science and Technology, Government of Indian, Institutional Biosafety Committee (IBSC) has been constituted to implement and respond to institutional biosafety & biosecurity at the institution level and evaluate applications related to rDNA technology work involving genetic and nongenetic hazardous microorganisms in IPGME&R. organization.

IBSC, IPGME&R is currently registered with Review Committee on Genetic

Manipulation (RCGM), DBT [Registration No :1A005].

FUNCTIONS OF IBSC, IPGME&R:

- a) Assess and monitor the items of research facilities, procedures and experts involved in HMOs/GMOs/LMOs and GE research and ensure that the proposed risk assessment, risk management and emergency plans are sufficient.
- b) Provide guidance to Principal Investigator on the issues related to biosafety while using HMOs/GMOs/LMOs and GE research including safety of the researcher(s) associated with the work.
- c) Inform the Principal Investigator about IBSC review, approval or rejection of applications.
- d) Submission of copies of site emergency plan to RCGM, GEAC, State Biotechnology Coordination Committee (SBCC) or District Level Committee (DLC) as the case may be, as per Rules, 1989e).
- e) Reporting for incidents and release: Any significant research-related accidents and illnesses be reported to IBSC/ RCGM.

Present Committee Members:

SI. No	Composition	Name	Designation	Present Affiliation	Fields of Expertise	E-mail
1	Chairman	(Prof) Dr. Manimoy	Director	IPGME&R	Head of the Organisation	director.ipgmer@gmail.com
		Bandyopadhyay				
2	Member Secretary	(Prof) Dr.	Associate	Department of	Anatomy	-
		Shyamalendu	Professor	Anatomy,		
		Medda		IPGME&R		

3	Biosafety Officer	(Prof) Dr. Kumkum Bhattacharyya	Professor	Department of Microbiology, IPGME&R	Microbiology	kumkum.bhattacharyya62@g mail.com
4	Outside Expert	(Prof) Dr. Provash Chandra Sadhukhan	Scientist E	NICED, Kolkata	Virology	provash2000@gmail.com
5	Internal Member	(Prof) Dr. Avijit Hazra	Professor, Dean, Students Affairs	Department of Pharmacology, IPGME&R	Pharmacology	blowfans@yahoo.co.in
6	Internal Member	(Prof) Dr. SujoyGhosh	Professor	Department of Endocrinology, IPGME&R	Endocrinology	drsujoyghosh2000@gmail.com
7	Internal Member	(Prof) Dr. SomaBanerjee	Associate Professor	School of Digestive & Liver Diseases, IPGME&R	Centre for Liver Research	somabanerjee 70@gmail.com
8	DBT Nominee	Dr. Sulagna Basu	Scientist F	NICED, Kolkata	Bacteriology	sulagnabasu@gmail.com